Jus’ Plug-in!

I’m always fascinated by the word ‘plug-ins’…..whether it’s in software or other electronic equipments. Whenever an electrical or electronic equipment doesn’t work the first thing that I look into is the plugs, to check whether it’s properly connected to the power supply. The equipment might be made of latest sophisticated technology but unless it is plugged-in to the power supply it’s of no use.

Jesus says: “I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing”(John15:5).

Here Jesus is the power supply and we all need to plug-in and make a connection. Establishing a connection may be easy but sustaining or abiding or remaining in that connection is sometimes difficult. Bearing much fruit completely depends on remaining in the connection.

Sometimes I find it difficult to be plugged-in. When the road gets rough I pull the plug off from the power supply thinking that I can manage on my own. But it doesn’t work. So I run back again to get plugged-in. I can’t do anything apart from Him.

Being plugged-in always keeps us renewed and burning brightly for His glory as His grace and power flows within us. All our gifts and talents can be used for His glory only when we are plugged-in.

So, just plug-in and remain there.

15 thoughts on “Jus’ Plug-in!

  1. Good analogy. I like how you’ve put it! The last line says “just plug-in and remain…” unplugged? Should that be remain plugged in? 🙂

    I like to think of the Holy Spirit flowing through me like an electric current, making me “work” and keeping me connected to Jesus the source of power.

    -RED

  2. I follow your analogy in terms of Christian belief, but to me it breaks down a bit in the sense that there is more than one sense of “electricity.” There are many spiritually energized people around the world who aren’t plugged into belief in Jesus as the Christ.

  3. Hey guys, thanks for stopping by.

    PAUL: Yes, my analogy here is in terms of Christian belief because that is my world view. I firmly believe that the spiritual energy received from Christ is genuine and true. To be honest, I don’t have enough knowledge about the spiritual energy received apart from being connected to Christ.

    Talking about Spirituality, you are having a wondeful and thought provoking discussions at your blog. I really enjoy reading them and getting involved. I’m also looking forward for your book ‘Original Faith’.
    Thanks for stopping by.

    -Martin.

  4. Greetings. Great analogy and not much to add to the great comments above. I can always tell when the cord is starting to come out of the plug. The patience is always the first to go and it lets me know that I need to fin a prayer closet. Have a blessed day in Christ:
    timbob

  5. Thanks Martin, I hear what your saying. My tradition is Christian too. I happen to have had enough exposure to other religions, especially Buddhism, that this has been a source of energy for me personally as well. In fact I’ve found those two – Christianity and Buddhism – highly complimentary. To simplify, it’s like Christianity says, “Be perfect as your heavenly Father is perfect” and Buddhism adds, “And here are some ways of going about it!”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

