There are some unanswered prayers in my life. These requests are very easy for the Lord to grant it to me. But He doesn’t do it. At times it’s really hard to understand the things He does and why He allows certain things to happen. Not everything goes according to the way that you plan. All your dreams are shattered. In situation like that it’s hard to understand where you are going. It’s frustrating. It’s a difficult to accept sudden change of events that you had never expected to happen. Doubt suddenly creeps in all that you do. There’s always a fear of failure. Pessimism raises it’s head. Faith loses its meaning. Questions like: ‘Is it worth trusting God?’ keep hitting hard at you.

If life is a race…..it’s hard to keep running. So what do I do? There’s one thing I don’t want to do….that is, to stagnate in one place. If I’m not able to run, I just want to walk slowly. Praying a little and crying a little. Getting some comfort from His words.

One special verse that keeps me going is Jer 29:11: “For I know the plans that I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

But accepting to tread an unknown path is not easy. Trusting becomes a difficult task. I’m reminded of what Philip Yancey states in his book ‘Reaching for the Invisible God‘: ‘to fear God or to fear everything else, to trust God or to trust nothing’

I feel it’s better to trust a little in God than to trust nothing and living in fear and depression. So let me keep trusting and walking even if the it’s the darkest night. Maybe, the dawn is just in sight.

6 thoughts on “Let me keep Walking

  1. Thanks for this post, Martin. Just this morning, I was telling my 7 year old son to give all his requests to God -big or small. It broke my heart when he replied, ‘But, Mom, God doesn’t always answer my prayers.’ I agreed that sometimes God does not answer all of our prayers within the timing we want and the way we want. But God wants us to give all our requests to Him, big or small. As I was talking to my son about faith, it made me reflect about the areas in my life that I may not be fully trusting in God’s timing and will for certain prayer requests. I love to fall back on the verse you mentioned. It helps me to trust that God knows what’s best for me even if I don’t see the big picture.
    Blessings in Christ,
    Scotti

Leave a Reply

