Beyond the Skies

Heaven must definitely be an awesome place. Its depiction by St.John in the 21st chapter of the Book of Revelations is really amazing. A place decorated with precious stones, surrounded by pearly gates and whose streets are of pure gold. But, I think, this is just a small imaginable glimpse of Heaven. God must be having loads of surprises when we get there. I think when it is seen in its entirety it will defy all imagination and description.

I think, in the sight of God, the six days creation of this world is just a paper cup that is crushed and thrown into the trash can. If this world, which was created to be destroyed later, could hold vast and deep mysteries which are still incomprehensible to man, how about a place which is going to last for eternity. Really wonderful… isn’t it?

“He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain…”(Rev21.4) If at all we shed tears in Heaven, I think, it will be tears of joy. It’s just joy unspeakable and full of glory.

There’s one thing that I firmly believe. The initial salvation was by grace of God and not by our works. And also we live our lives each day by the grace of God. Even so, the final salvation is going to be by the grace of God. Of course, we need to follow and obey all the commandments of God….but it’s still by the grace of God that we’ll be entering Heaven. Remember the thief who said to Jesus at the cross:”….remember me when you come into your kingdom” and Jesus replied: “I tell you the truth, today you will be with me in paradise”(Luke23.42,43). It’s the grace that’s going to enable us to reach our destination. Thankfully, this GRACE is NEVER-ENDING and when we all get to heaven we’ll be able to truly appreciate why this GRACE is so AMAZING.


There is a beautiful song about Heaven sung by U2. “Where The Streets Have No Name” Enjoy the Video!

12 thoughts on “Beyond the Skies

  1. Ahhh – a post after my own heart :). I too consider that we’ve no conception of what we’re going to, and will be utterly amazed when we arrive. We can’t conceive the reality of this darned earth when you think of it – can’t understand more than a minute amount about how it functions, and none of us have the capacity to get to see more than 0.1% of it in our lifetime if even that much yet there’s SO much to see and discover here. I often pray that when I get to heaven I’ll have opportunity to see or know of what I’ve missed, but that just makes me think (like you), of what on earth (pardon the pun), the new earth is going to be like for starters, and then new heavens too – WOW!

    On the tears – I wrote a post on that topic a while back, but am drawn tonight to the point about “no mourning”, which makes me think that at some point perhaps there is some to be done there too – but it’s the fact that we apparently can cry while there that made me rethink our usual stance about that verse – most seem to think it means we won’t have crying, or weeping in heaven, but the point is that God is wiping away the tears, so we have to have the capacity to cry in the first place, and that makes me wonder what sort of body we’ll have that is complete with such emotions still too!!

    Blow your brains wouldn’t it LOL :)). Blessings, TKR

  2. Tikkiro, thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Its a wonder how the ‘resurrected’ or the ‘transformed’ body will be….(as you said) complete with emotions. It evokes a sense of awe and wonder.

  3. Martin,
    So glad I stopped by today. Your post made my longing for heaven even deeper and stronger. I agree with the previous comment–about God wiping away our tears, seeming to suggest there were some to wipe away. I have a husband who I will be reunited with in heaven and I have often wondered if where he is now, whether he can see or not, he might weep when his children and I do. I also wonder about the ministering spirits sent to comfort the saints, how they must feel the anguish we are feeling–a sort of empathy for God’s beings.
    Just a thought
    Enjoyed the post very much
    A peacefilled day to you, my brother
    Neva

  4. I’ve had thoughts along these lines too. As God says to Job from out of the whirlwind: “Where were you when I laid the foundations of the word?”

    Who knows how much we don’t know?

  5. Hi Martin 🙂

    I have been enjoying reading your posts just wondering where you are, it’s been a while since your last post. Praying that everything is well with you 🙂

    Love,
    Diana

  6. Pingback: rocket german

  7. Don’t know why but watching that gave me shivers, just thinking about heaven…
    I do look forward to going there; I think you’re so right that we only have a tiny glimpse of what wonder awaits us!

    Blessings to you Martin, I pray that all is well!

    Susan

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

